I’m Writing A Book (Kinda)

**ATTENTION** 7/17/12 Thank you for visiting this blog post. Please note that I am in the process of writing a guide to help those who have experienced pregnancy loss. You can read about that and more on pregnancy loss by clicking here or the tab above.**

The best way to become acquainted with a subject is to write a book about it. – Benjamin Disraeli

I’ve hesitated  about making this announcement for one reason; if I say it, I’ll have to do it because the world will hold me accountable.

I remember when my favorite therapist-blogger-turned-author announced he was writing a book, he received an ongoing barrage of questions, until the eventual release of his hilarious book. And Allie Brosh (of Hyperbole and a Half) announced she was writing a book, then fell into a deep depression (from which she is now recovering, after seeking mental health services). It made me question how good of an idea this really could be. It seemed to me (from my sample size of 2), that bloggers-turned-author are doomed.

However, I recognized that by saying I will do something, I am more likely to actually do it. And so, I am saying that I’m writing a book.

I don’t have many answers for the questions that usually follow such an announcement, like “when will it be finished?” and “how will it change my life?” But, I will be able to state the following:

  • It’s really more of a booklet, comprised of short chapters
  • It is meant to be a guide for couples who have experienced pregnancy loss (miscarriage, etc.) primarily addressing accompanying mental health concerns
  • It will be available for download only (for now, at least)
  • It will be cheap
  • My hope is that it will help someone somewhere

Thankfully, I’m not on this journey alone (*whew*). I have an editor who is a distinguished psychologist in the field of health.

So, wish me luck! My plan is officially set in (cyber)stone.

About Traci S. Williams-Nurse

Dr. Traci Williams-Nurse is a licensed psychologist who specialized in child, adolescent and family psychology. Her interests include child development, family functioning, video games and food. She was born and raised in Trinidad & Tobago and currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Book, Marriage, Miscarriage, Pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m Writing A Book (Kinda)

  1. Good luck, you can do it!

  2. *panic* THE Rob Dobrenski? Wow, talk about no pressure! Haha. Thank you 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Effects of Miscarriage | Child Space

  4. richjob says:

    I’m proud of you.

  5. Wonderful Traci. Go for it. I am sure it will challenge you and you will grow during the process. I look forward to reading it.

  6. Pingback: Couples Face Risk of Break Up Following Miscarriage | Child Space

  7. Pingback: Top 10 Most Popular Blog Posts | Child Space

Leave a Reply

