Blog update & the impacts of stress

It’s been a while! I haven’t posted anything in over a year, but with good reason. Being a full time 3rd year grad student, a full time fiancee, a part time employee and a part time budding clinician became time consuming. Something had to give, and unfortunately it was the blog and its accompanying facebook page.

Despite this hiatus, the blog itself continued to attract a global audience, with over 3,600 views since the last post. With all my other responsibilities and the demand of a wide audience of readers, I became stressed out.
I’ve blogged about stress before, and highlighted the fact that children and teenagers can also experience stress. In times of stress, it’s important to take stock of all your responsibilities, prioritize needs versus wants, and manage your time effectively. Blogging became a want and then got shelved.

Now that I’m back, and no longer enrolled in classes (woohoo!), I’m taking the blog off the shelf and dusting it off. As I continue to grow and evolve, I hope the same happens with Child Space. Currently, you’ll witness the following changes:

– More frequent postings: WordPress, this blog’s platform, has made it very easy to blog in general, and more specifically, to blog on the go. With apps now on my pc, phone, and tablet, I can blog from wherever I may be.

– A more personalised approach: In the past, I’d choose a topic relevant to child psychology, research it extensively, write about it, before editing and posting. That approach was labour intensive and left the blog feeling more professional and aloof. I hope to change this, by now blogging about whatever comes to mind (related to children and teens, of course) during the course of my day. I will continue to provide resources and pertinent links.

– Continued updating of the facebook page, with links that I come across while surfing the net.

Thanks for sticking with Child Space! The journey continues!

About Traci S. Williams-Nurse

Dr. Traci Williams-Nurse is a licensed psychologist who specialized in child, adolescent and family psychology. Her interests include child development, family functioning, video games and food. She was born and raised in Trinidad & Tobago and currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Graduate School, Stress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

